73-50 Little Neck Parkway
Floral Park, NY 11004
Situated on what was a family farm from 1772 until 1927, the Queens County Farm Museum now serves to educate visitors about the history of farming in Queens. The 47 acre New York City park features planted fields and grazing livestock to illustrate the basic workings of a farm. Visitors can also learn about the rich history of the site through tours of the farmhouse. Built in 1772 and added to in the 1830s, the house combines Dutch and English architectural styles. It has a steeply pitched roof, four-foot eaves, and hand-split shingles. Acquired by New York City in 1981, it opened as a museum in 1983 and was restored in 1985.